Villum Kann Rasmussen Annual Award in Science and Technology is one of the largest individual Danish research awards. It is given to a Danish researcher in recognition of a particularly valuable contribution to the technical and natural sciences.

Who can receive the annual award?

You cannot apply for the annual award. The recipients are chosen by the board of VILLUM FONDEN on the basis of the Annual Award Committee's nomination.

Every year, present VILLUM grant holders within technical and natural science are invited to submit suggestions for qualified nominees to the Committee.

Villum Kann Rasmussen, the founder of the foundations, wanted to support technical and scientific research and to provide better opportunities for creative scientific work to benefit and to inspire Danish researchers.

Through his work, Villum Kann Rasmussen demonstrated remarkable creativity and entrepreneurship.  Among other things, in the construction of the VELUX skylight window and by taking out more than 55 patents produced through inventiveness and experimental research.

A total of 43 researchers have received the annual award since it was first given in 1987. The award includes a DKK 5 million award. Applications are not accepted.

VILLUM FONDEN’s board of directors selects the recipient of the annual award. The selection is made based on the recommendations of a panel that obtains statements about candidates from experts in the individual researcher’s field of specialisation.

The annual award medal

The annual award includes DKK 5 million and this medal with the silhouette of Villum Kann Rasmussen.

Donald Canfield 
-recipient of the 2023 Annual Award 
Dorte Juul Jensen
- recipient of the
2022 Annual Award

Ib Chorkendorff & Jens-Christian Svenning

- recipients of the 2021 Annual Award

Rasmus Nielsen
- recipient of the
2020 Annual Award

Sergey I. Bozhevolnyi 
- recipient of the
2019 Annual Award 

Ivan Damgaard
- recipient of the 2018 Annual Award

Jens Hjorth
- recipient of the
2017 Annual Award

Lone Gram
- recipient of the 2016 Annual Award
Jens Stougaard - recipient of the 2016 Annual Award