The boards of directors of VILLUM FONDEN and VELUX FONDEN have in recent years taken steps to strengthen the approval process.

This was done by establishing working groups and committees for each of the various grant areas and programme types.

Working groups

The boards have set up a number of working groups mainly for the purpose of contributing to the allocation activities of the foundations taking place on a professional, sound and in other respects exemplary basis. The object of the working groups is to assist the board of trustees with strategic development as well as with the handling and recommendations to decide on applications and projects within selected areas, presently the individual allocation areas as well as the asset management.

The below directions apply to working groups set up by the foundations unless a decision has been made to the contrary for the individual working group.

Youth and science
  • Steen Riisgaard, MSc, CEO, Vice-chair of the board of VILLUM FONDEN
Culture and Society
  • Jens Kann-Rasmussen, MSc, Senior Director Global Standardisation and Technical Documentation at VELUX A/S, Chair of VILLUM FONDEN
  • Jørgen Tang-Jensen, former CEO of VELUX A/S, member of the board of VILLUM FONDEN 

Environment and sustainability
  • David Dupont-Mouritzen, Project Director, Copenhagen Infrastructure Service Partners, eksternt medlem, external member
  • Sif Johansson, senior adviser at The Swedish Research Council Formas, PhD, external member
Technical and natural sciences
Social programmes, Denmark
  • Erik Michael Darre, board member of VELUX FONDEN
  • Leif Olsen, senior scientist VIVE, MSc, ph.d.
Social programmes, other countries
  • Eva Zeuthen Bentsen, MSc., PhD, partner Zeuthen Storm, board member of VILLUM FONDEN
  • Connie Hedegaard Koksbang, MA in history and literature, former Minister of Environment, Minister for Climate and Energy, EU Commissioner, etc.


Humanities and culture
  • Marie Louise Bech Nosch, Professor, Saxo-Insititute, University of Copenhagen, board member of VELUX FONDEN
  • Anne-Marie Mai, Professor, University of Southern Denmarkt, lic.phil., board member of VELUX FONDEN

Humanities and praxis
  • Marie Louise Bech Nosch, professor, Saxo-Insititute, University of Copenhagen, board member of VELUX FONDEN
  • Anne-Marie Mai, Professor, Licenciate (PhD), University of Southern Denmark, member of VELUX FONDEN 


Committees provide consultancy and assist the boards of directors.

In VILLUM FONDEN's Young Investigator Programme, a special program committee has been set up to identify the best-qualified applicants. The members of the committee are listed in the Young Investigator Programme Call.

In VILLUM FONDEN's Synergy Programme, a scientific committee has been set up consisting of the members of the working group for technical and scientific research and three external members who professionally supplement the working group's scientific areas. The members of the committee are listed in the Synergy Programme Call.

Recipients of the Annual Award are selected by the board of directors of VILLUM FONDEN from among a pool of nominees chosen by an annual award committee. For more information about the committee see the Annual Award page.

The boards of directors of both foundations can consult with the Investment Committee, which has been specially established to advise on investment practices.



Working group members receive an annual fee of DKK 75,000. The fee is determined on basis of the time and responsibility associated with the task. In the research-based working groups Humanities and Technical and Natural Sciences, the activities are more extensive, and consequently members of Humanities receive an annual fee of DKK 100,000, and members of Technical and Natural Sciences receive an annual fee of DKK 125,000. Members of the Investment Committee are remunerated with DKK 100,000 per year, taking into account the responsibilities associated with asset management, as well as the need to be able to attract the right external competencies to the committee.

External experts are compensated either on an hourly basis or by the number of applications they review.

Committee members receive an annual fee commensurate with their responsibilities.